The Ultimate Baby’s Room

By popular demand, today you get two posts for the price of one (this also makes up for my lack of posting the last couple of weeks). Per request, I am posting pictures of a baby’s room mural I painted a little over a year ago now. Friends of ours from down the street from where we live had a baby last summer and asked me if I would paint a scene in their baby room. Little did they know my ideas would end up being a full scale mural that took up the entire wall of the bedroom! This project was very labor intensive and took me almost 4 months of working on weekends to complete. Not to toot my own horn, but it came out even better than I hoped it would and according to mom and dad Anna loves standing in her crib and looking at all the characters on the wall. Ironically enough this project was the first artistic endeavor I tackled since graduating college. It was also the project that jumped started my artistic “itch” and lead me to where I am today (thanks guys!)
Without further adieu…
This was the sketch that started it all… They just wanted a couple of characters… they got a lot more than they bargained for!

This is probably a third of the way through the project. The characters are roughed out, but no details yet. Here we have the Lorax, Sam I Am, and part of Horton.

Here we have Sam I Am again and “Ghost Horton” with his flower as Jerad dubbed him. On the right you can see the beginnings of Gertrude McFuzz’s tail.

We can’t forget Yertle the Turtle and his entourage. My favorite is the little fishy guy at the bottom.  

Here we have the finished wall with the Lorax and his Truffala trees, and Sam I Am and his green eggs and ham.

“I do not like green eggs and ham, I will not eat them Sam I Am!”

Horton Hears a Who and a poor bird is trying to hold up the monstrosity known as Gertrude McFuzz.

Close up of Gertrude.

Close up of her tail in all it’s glory along with Yertle and the happy little fish.

A close up of the turtles. The one on the bottom is my favorite.
Our neighbors are hiring me this winter to do a second room in a Peter Pan theme. This time it might be two to three walls, but not full scale murals. On the first one they want the silhouettes of the kids and the London skyline at night.
Here is the sketch….

Yay for Peter Pan!

Normally I would agree with a friend of mine who once said “Glitter is the venereal disease of arts and crafts”, but in this case they have to have their pixie dust trails, there is just no getting around it. The trick is going to be finding some sort of clear paint with glitter in it that I can put on a wall…. Challenge accepted!

The second wall is probably going to be the pirate ship with Captain Hook and the pirates, but that sketch is a work in progress. I will post when I finish it. Hope you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

