The name of this project is "tedious"…

Worked some more on my stained glass project today. I started this sucker like 4 months ago not realizing how time consuming it was going to be.

Here’s the basic idea-

I found a children’s board book from Goodwill in like February and bought it because it looked interesting. I didn’t know what I was going to do with it yet. As you can see from the picture it’s unique because it can fold all the way out and it has the cool cutouts on each page. There used to be see-through plastic designs there, but I ripped them out and primed the book with gesso paint.

Ā (Carwyn *left* and Rhett *right* were just waiting for their close up! Ignore the messy studio in the background.)

A couple weeks after I bought the book I ran across an Elizabeth Kubler-Ross quote I fell in love with-

ā€œPeople are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.ā€

I thought to myself, “Wouldn’t it be cool to turn that book into a stained glass sculpture with that quote running across it?” Yeah, great idea=lots of work!

The first step was I had to design each of the six stain glass panels. I looked at traditional stained glass panels from churches to get ideas. Then I had to redo each design onto tissue paper so they were geometrically equal. From there I had to trace each design on black cardstock, which I then cut out by hand with an exacto knife (this is still a work in progress as well). Then I had to create the colored paper that would go into the different parts of the cutouts by using glue and tissue paper (a la 5 year old, camp arts and crafts, sun catcher style!) NOW I have to trace each shape, cut it out of the tissue paper and glue into place. Repeat six times, and I will finally have all the panels to glue down onto the book. WHEW! Despite the amount of work it has been it’s turning out pretty awesome as you can see…

This a panel with the first two colors, red and green added. I think it’s going to take me awhile!

Aside from that I have a couple other projects on my table right now such as my next linoleum cut pictured below…

Before I started cutting with just the pencil drawing…
Now it’s almost completely carved.

And speaking of things on my table I don’t think this post would be complete without sharing the awesome food find I made earlier this week.

Veggie chips! (Yes, that is a green bean!)

I found these awesome organic veggie chips in the bulk section at Kroger of all places! They are whole slices of veggies that have either been baked, fried, or dehydrated (or some combination thereof) to make this awesome tasty snack that I can actually eat yay! I was surprised that I liked it as well as I do because I am not a huge squash fan and there is squash and zucchini both in it, but it doesn’t bother me bit. I bought a couple of containers to take in my luggage when we go to Florida šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

